Check-up time

One of the requirements of my adoption of Ginger was to take her to the vet for a check-up. She had just seen a vet with the shelter and gotten a couple shots, but they, of course, wanted me to know for myself that everything was OK, discuss the possibilities of additional vaccinations, and all that good stuff.

I took my time, researching different veterinary clinics, getting recommendations from friends, and reading up on preventative care. I decided to try a clinic that was less than 5 minutes from my apartment, and had good reviews both online and from a couple friends. Their prices seemed reasonable to what I was expecting, and they were very informative both on their website and when I called (multiple times) to inquire about things.

This was actually my first vet visit, so I was a little nervous since I wasn’t sure what they did, what they would find, or how they would treat my beloved baby girl.

We started off with a treat and weight. My “30 lb” dog weighed in at a hefty 47.1 lbs! Oh well, at least she’s still considered “Medium”. Good thing I put 30 lbs on my pet deposit form since that was the weight limit. :-/

Then, they moved us to a room and started the process. They took her picture for their records, checked her microchip (it worked!), and went over a bit of her history with me (at least, what I knew of it). Once that was complete, the doctor came in. I LOVE HIM! Super nice, very relaxed, great with Ginger. The whole exam he managed to just be petting her while examining her at the same time so she never seemed nervous at all. He gave me a lot of good information and reading material. He made sure and addressed all my questions and concerns.

The final few moments was a shot for her Leptospirosis vaccination (she gets to have another in a month) and a *failed* attempt at taking her temperature. That was pretty funny. They lubricated the thermometer and the assistant put a treat in one hand, and wrapped her arm around her neck to hold her and Ginger said “no way, Jose!” and backed right out. I can’t say that I much blame her there. I wouldn’t want that done either!

We’ll be back in a month for her second shot, a parasite check,and  toenail trim. And, he is also advising me to do a heartworm test just to rule it out so we know for sure, so will probably get that done in a month as well. Whew!

All in all, I’m glad to have the process started, to know that they think she’s in great health, and to be starting a relationship with a great clinic. As a parting shot, here is Ginger patiently waiting in the room before the exam.

 

2 thoughts on “Check-up time

  1. A thought… vets over-vaccinate dogs. You might have some requirements from the adoption agency, or from a doggy day care, for certain things, but a lot of the recurring vaccinations are completely unnecessary.

    What you can ask the vet to do is to check the titer levels in her blood for her immunity to the various bad bugs. If they are too low, then you can get the shot.

    Some vets won’t do this, but more and more they’re okay with it. Checking the titers is only slightly more expensive than getting the shot in the first place but most of the time, their immunity from earlier shots is still in their system. I do it with Indy and other than the recurring, required rabies shots, he hasn’t needed any regular vaccine boosters.

  2. Thanks for the advice Paul! I definitely plan on doing some research on this issue as I’m actually not a big proponent of vaccinations (for pets or people). Since I’m new and haven’t had the chance to research it all, I thought I would heed the vet’s advice for the first year, which will give me time read and learn, then when next year comes around, I can have a better plan in mind. 🙂
    PS: So glad to hear Indy’s doing well!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

