Mt. Si – The BIG one!

After a rough week and a crazy weekend, I was definitely ready to head back out to the cascades for some time to process, think, reflect, and revel in quiet. In talking to a friend on Thursday, I got it in my head that I should climb Mt. Si this weekend. I hadn’t planned on doing a hike that intense until mid-July, giving me time to prepare. But, I needed to achieve something big this weekend, and Mt. Si ended up being it.

It was definitely a hard hike, and I can see why people use it as a training hike. What I loved about it though, was the longer switch-backs, and the fact that the scenery changed often, so I didn’t dwell on how far I had gotten in the last ten minutes.

Unfortunately, it was raining when I arrived at the trailhead, and it continued to rain for the entire hike. Ginger stopped every 15 minutes or so to shake off again. She’s so cute when she’s wet and covered in mud. 🙂

The old growth is astounding and the smells and peacefulness was exactly what I needed. Despite being cold, wet, and sweaty, I was happy to be in the rain because it scared off most people.

Here’s my gorgeous, muddy and wet gal!

We ran into a lot of fog during the hike, and it made the forest a little creepy. I also had a moment of panic when I realized if I ran into a wild animal, I wouldn’t have the first clue of what to do. I need to figure that out before the next hike!

About halfway up, and I was tiiiiired! But I kept on trekking.

I just loved this spot in the path. I did a lot of soul-searching and thinking on this trip. Sometimes, when I’m contemplative, this kinds of pictures happen, and I can’t really explain why I took them. In the moment, it resonated with me.

Sadly, I didn’t get to take any pictures at the top because there were a TON of chipmunks running around, and Ginger was going bat-sh*t crazy on me. She actually almost knocked me off the rock I was resting on which was on a ledge. It was slightly scary. So, between her intensity and the fact that all the clouds prevented ANY type of view, there is no photographic evidence to show I was there. I guess that means I’ll just have to go back…..but maybe not for a while. 😉

All in all, it was a good hike, and one I’m so proud that I accomplished so early in the year! I do think with the next couple hikes I will tone it down a bit, maybe do longer hikes with lower elevation gain or shorter hikes with a fair amount of elevation.

2 thoughts on “Mt. Si – The BIG one!

  1. Wow, good job getting out there. I think I would have struggled with the motivation for Si on such a wet day. Congratulations on making your goal – I think you’ll find that you’re capable of much harder hikes than you think!

    Last year around this time we went to Goat Lake on the Mountain Loop Highway and we really liked it. 10 miles/1500 feet, so it fits your longer but less gain criteria, and there’s a lake at the end where Ginger can swim!

  2. I contemplated leaving but I had already driven all the way out there, and I didn’t want to feel like I chickened out. I’m definitely learning it’s about the power of will and determination and you can make your body do a lot of things.

    Thanks for the tip! I needed a good one for this upcoming Saturday. Rattlesnake Ledge was going to be the next, but it’s only 4 miles, so it seems like cheating. 🙂

Leave a Reply

