Ready, set…..CROSSFIT!

Last year I decided that 2012 would be an amazing year for me, and that I would put a lot of focus on becoming healthier all around: mentally, physically, emotionally, and spiritually. I feel like I have made progress in all of those areas and most are on a good trajectory, except physically. While I have started hiking, and love every moment of it, it hasn’t quite given me the level of results I was hoping for. Now, what it has done is given me an amazing mental strength that nothing else could have done for me. And, I believe that having that mental strength is key to going to the next place I want to go to.

When I began thinking of what I needed to do to reach the physical goals I have set for myself, I went back and forth on several options. Do I just get my butt in the gym more often? Do I hire a personal trainer? Do I hike multiple times a week? And nothing was really sticking out to me. Until I started thinking about Crossfit. Something about it caught my attention, and I began researching. I talked to a few people, read things online, watched videos, visited various Crossfit gym’s websites here in Seattle, and really began to feel that this was the next step I was looking for.

I need something to focus on right now that is mine and mine alone. I need a place where I don’t know anyone yet. I need a place where I don’t feel competition. I need a place that will push me past my comfort zone, that will invest in me, sees my potential and pushes me towards it. I need a place that is going to break down the barriers I have built over the last 30 years. I need a place that is going to help me change into that new person that I am growing into for this new decade of my life.

So, tonight I went and had my consult with the gym owner and immediately fell in love with the culture of that place. By the end of those 30 minutes, I knew that this is exactly where I need to be and what I need to be doing at least for the remainder of this year, but possibly a lot longer. So, I’ve signed up for my intro classes and will begin at the end of August!

I am relieved and incredibly nervous at the same time. I know I can do this, and I know I’m supposed to do this, and I think that is what is scary. Sometimes, you hope and pray for direction in life, but you get so used to feeling lost that when you find a path you know you’re supposed to take, that then feels scary, to know that you’re moving forward again, into an unknown area of growth, development, maturity, strength and new possibilities. But, I’m ready for it. I am. I can see now how the past few months have been preparing me for this decision, for this step, and I feel calm despite feeling nervous too.

So, bring it on Crossfit!!!!

Leave a Reply

