9 Months

My first full WOD was today and going into it, I thought it would be…..not easy, but not as hard as the last workout I did. It was definitely hard, but in a different way. My trainer still scaled it down for me in certain areas, but I felt really good finishing it. I also found a new one-rep max for my backsquat which was 136.5 lbs which was 105% of my old max. I like that. 🙂 I can’t wait to surpass it.

In other news, I had my 9 month CT scan and follow-up appointment today with my oncologist, and I’m happy to report I am still cancer-free and healthy. There were some bittersweet moments today as I went by myself for the whole thing. Being in that place always brings back crazy memories and makes me remember that I have to be living my life every day because you never know when it will be taken from you. But it also reminds me of who I’ve been in that office with, everything that has changed over the past few months, and everything I’ve discovered.

On a lighter note, this past weekend I discovered the joy of live college football. It is so much more fun than NFL. I was invited to go watch the Washington Huskies play on Saturday, and I had a wonderful time doing so.

Pretty cute, eh?

It also happened to be marching band day where local high schools joined UW’s band for the halftime show. I thought it was lots of fun.

Other activities that kept me busy was seeing a jazz show that was amazingly good, having drinks with a girlfriend who is super crazy busy in law school, having brunch on Sunday with my guy-friend who I haven’t seen in awhile, and spending time with BFF then heading to church. It was a wonderful weekend, even if it was super busy. I’m looking forward to another nice chill weekend soon though.

Now, if I can turn this post a little more serious for a moment. I’ve been contemplating a lot lately, about life, love and relationships, mostly romantic. I feel really good where I am right now, and don’t feel the need to just date someone to date. I’m happy being single for now, knowing that I’m focusing on the most important things right now, mainly me. I’m happy that I know what I want, that I’m smart and successful and that there’s no reason for me to just fill a void.

Yes, I still miss him. Yes, I still wonder, but day by day, it fades a little more. When will it be gone? I don’t know, but I’m more comfortable now than I was a month ago. I’m happy to have CrossFit as a new piece of my life. I feel as though it solves a lot of the issues I was having earlier this summer and gives me a renewed sense of personal achievement. I can’t wait to see the benefits of my hard work.

Leave a Reply

