Oktoberfest 2012

This weekend marked my first Oktoberfest experience, and I have to say, it was a ton of fun!

I went with the lovely Monica, who I never hang out with enough, but when we do, we always have a good time.

The tasting glasses look small, but after ten of them, they really catch up to you.

And you can’t enjoy good beer without enjoying a bratwurst! So yummy!

That is the mustard that changed my life. I have no idea what was in it, but it was phenomenal. It was sweet and spicy, tangy and zippy. Oh man, it was so good. I had a bunch on my bratwurst, then more for my pretzel.

Once we ran out of tokens for our tasting glass, it was time for the stein! The sad part of buying a stein was that you only had two options for beer: an oktoberfest brew (which is what I had) or a pilsner which was good as well, but neither were as good as some of the beers we tasted out and about.

And then this happened. Yeah, it doesn’t get more Midwest than this.

Post the festival, we headed up to a little Mexican restaurant with a couple other friends for tacos and margaritas. And we met this new fun, friend who was hanging out in the little water fountain. I decided it would be fun to take pictures. Then, once we had done that and put him back in his place, this happened:

I felt like he needed a hat, and by hat, I mean a chip. :-/ What can I say? I was having an exceptionally good time.

Oktoberfest is definitely something I would do again. I had a blast, excellent company, great beer, and awesomely non-nutritious food. Win, win win!

Leave a Reply

