Needing to find motivation

I am a person of routine. Yes, I like to be spontaneous, and I like to do crazy things here and there, but ultimately, I love routine, especially the older I get. For the past two weeks, I have been off of my routine, and the longer I stay off it, the harder it is to convince myself to get back into it. Why is that? I know I work better on a routine. I know it was a good routine for me. Then why is it so hard to get back into it? Part of it is, most likely, just laziness. I was so busy the week leading up to my trip to Las Vegas that I didn’t have time for my normal routine, then came the trip, then home, and I’ve been tired ever since. To top it off, I took a harsh fall this morning right onto my kneecap. Ouch. So, now I’m gimping around, wondering if I’m even going to be able to work out next week.

I think the other reason I’m having a hard time getting motivated is due to my high expectations going into CrossFit and realizing that first, this is a long journey. Nothing great and long-lasting comes for free. You have to work for it, and work long and hard. Second, in order for these workouts to truly make a difference, it requires a change in my lifestyle, a change that I haven’t quite been willing to make to date. So, because I haven’t seen the kind of changes I was expecting I’ve felt very discouraged over the past couple of weeks, which in turn makes me feel like I don’t care if I work out or not. It’s really amazing how much our thinking affects our actions.

I know I have a few more great experiences happening this year (trips, shows, parties, etc), and I know that my routine will be upset again, but I want to be better at trying to continue my routine despite other happenings. I also want to begin to implement other lifestyle changes that I know will be beneficial for me in the long run. I want to fuel my body properly and have increased energy. I want to feel great about myself physically, mentally, spiritually, and emotionally. And I want to see change.

Leave a Reply

