The rain has returned

And I’m so happy!! It seems while I was off in Vegas, fall decided to show up in the PNW (Pacific Northwest). All of a sudden, the trees are alive with colors, and so are the streets with fallen leaves. The clouds have rolled in and water is falling from the sky once again and I’m pulling out coats, scarves, and gloves. This is the time of year I love the most. It makes me feel justified in holing up in my apartment, watching TV, cooking, cleaning, reading, and being pseudo-lazy.

I did get around to finally buying a food processor this past weekend and made my first batch of homemade hummus. I’ve been talking about buying one for months, and just never got around to it. I found one on sale and decided to just go for it and hope I make good use out of it. I think I will. You can do all kinds of stuff with these machines!

I also finally bought rain boots, after taking a nasty fall Friday morning. I figure they’re a good investment since I have to walk Ginger several times a day and go to the muddy dog park. Plus, I can wear them as my commuting shoes for work when it’s raining. Yeah, I think they’ll be very useful! And they’re cute!

Ginger also got some rain gear! I don’t think she hates it, but I’m hoping she won’t fight it when we’re out walking in the rain. It’s really for her benefit (and mine). πŸ™‚

Thanks to Elton, I’m staying well hydrated on the weekends and weeknights. I find it funny that I drink more water if it comes out of a straw….and in a gold sparkly cup! (Side note: The Elton John store got WAY too much money from me :-/)

And when I don’t feel like cooking (aka Saturday), sometimes this becomes my dinner. Don’t worry, I had a guest, so I didn’t eat all of that by myself. πŸ™‚ It makes for excellent lunches too!

But on Sunday, I decided to fill my apartment with warm, happy smells and I made pulled pork in the crockpot and baked acorn squash in the oven. I always forget how easy it is to make pulled pork, and that it will feed me for an entire week!

The cold, wet mornings make me crave warm beverages, so I brought out the hardly-ever-used coffeepot I own, and set the timer so that I would wake up to the delicious aroma of fresh brewed coffee.

And every once in awhile, after the rain, you’re lucky enough to catch a view like this (out of my office window) and remember that this world, this life really is beautiful and to take any moment for granted is waste. Rainbows remind me that good things can (and do) come after a storm. Seems deep? It is. I’m pondering a lot this week and I’m sure those ponderings will make into into posts in the upcoming days/weeks. For now, I’m still processing.

Finally, I’m signed up for CrossFit classes this week, attempting to get back into my routine, while also counting down the days until my next adventure (Mumford & Sons in LA – 17 days to go!) with one of the best guys I know.

Leave a Reply

