Saving Great Animals

A couple weeks ago, I posted about wanting to get involved with a dog rescue organization. I was set to meet with the director but I never posted a follow-up to that. Well, that’s because our meeting was canceled due to an emergency, then it was postponed due to the holidays and all that busyness.

Well, last night, we were able to meet and I was brought into a world that I believe is truly where I am meant to be. Originally, we just planned to meet at Starbucks to go over the organization and talk about how I could be involved. However, there ended up being a slight emergency with one of the dogs, and instead of just meeting for coffee, I was able to tag along to pull the dog out of his current place and help to move him to the vet to to be checked out and boarded until a foster home can be found for him. It was a very emotional experience for me, learning his story, meeting this gentle giant, and having to leave him someplace so lonely. (I’ll write a separate post on his story)

After getting him settled, we did end up finding a Starbucks and sitting down for about 45 minutes to go over the organization, structure, what they need, and how I could help. SGA (Saving Great Animals) has a wonderful approach to adopting dogs out, they look at it as a match.com for dogs. They don’t just want to give a dog to someone, they want to make sure that it’s the right dog for the right person which is something I fully support. In order to do that, they rely on Case Managers to take on a few dogs, and see them through the process of rescue to adoption. That’s where I come in. I will be a case worker for SGA going forward, and will have dogs assigned to me. Starting out, I have two (which, again, I will write about in a separate post).

Another thing that is interesting about SGA is that they rescue a majority of their dogs from high-kill shelters in California and once they can find a foster home, or trial-adopter, they transport them up here to the Seattle area to begin their new life. I know this will make it challenging since I won’t have a chance to meet and get-to-know the dogs until they are moved up here, but I am going to do my best to learn as much about them as I can, then when they are moved to Washington, I want to personally connect with them so that I get a better feel of their personality, disposition, etc.

I want to encourage everyone I know, or even the people I don’t who have stumbled into my little blogging world, to please head over to Facebook and like Saving Great Animal’s Facebook page, because we all know that the more people we can have on board, the better chances of finding great homes for these wonderful pups.

I’m not even sure that I can accurately express my emotions about this whole experience. It’s a very bittersweet thing to be involved with, and I know that my heart will probably hurt more often than not, but on the other hand, I am so hopeful that these great dogs can find forever homes and change someone’s life completely for the better (like Ginger did for me). And I consider myself very blessed that I will get to be involved in that, even if it is in a very small way.

Leave a Reply

