Stanley

When I decided I wanted to be involved in dog rescue, I knew it would be a very hard thing for me because I have a very soft heart when it comes to animals, especially dogs. I always have. They look at me and I just melt into their puppy-dog-brown eyes. If I had enough space (like a 40 acre ranch), I would own 15 dogs, I’m sure of it. Yes, I would be the crazy dog lady. But, I live in a one-bedroom apartment, so that dream just has to remain a dream for now.

When I went with the director to pull Stanley out of his current foster home and move him to the vet for a check-up and boarding, I really had no idea what kind of situation I was walking into. I just knew that a dog needed to be moved and I was going along for the ride. I walked into that house and there, sitting in front of me was this ginormous dog, looking at me like all he wanted to do was say hi.

Stanley is an 8 year old, 105 lb German Shepard/St. Bernard mix. He is large, he is strong, and he is a big lover. That’s not to say he doesn’t have a few issues that will need to be addressed, but who wouldn’t after being bounced around a few times and abandoned by your owner because they “just didn’t want” you anymore. Yes, this sweet dog was taken by his owner to the vet to be euthanized for no other reason than they didn’t want him anymore. How awful is that? Thankfully, the vet refused and now Stanley has to rely on us to try and find him a great forever home.

On the drive from the foster home to the vet, I had to fight tears at Stanley’s situation. It’s obvious that Stanley has had some abuse in his past and that his protective instincts are strong, but he is such a good boy. Within 15 minutes of knowing him, he had no problem listening to my commands and even protecting me when someone approached us on the dark street. I feel strongly for this guy, and really hope that the perfect someone will come along and save Big Stanley and give him the home, training, and love that he really deserves.

You can read a little about him here http://www.petfinder.com/petdetail/24898843 and see a picture of his lovable, goofy face.

Thank you, Stanley for changing my life.

Leave a Reply

