Whidbey Island

What a beautiful and quiet place! It was exactly what I was looking for for a relaxing weekend.

I took Friday off in order to run errands and prepare for the weekend. Plus, who doesn’t like to just have a random day off during the week? First stop was to get Ginger’s nails trimmed. Guess what? She HATES doing that.

IMG_2609

Poor baby girl. 😦 But, it was necessary, and now her toes are happier.

IMG_2610

Then it was on to clean my car for trip, except that apparently everyone and their mom also wanted to clean their cars, so I had to wait. Why are all of these people not working on a Friday?!

IMG_2611

We made it to the island! First stop, a pint and lunch. We found this cute English pub where we drank good beer, and ate seafood before going along our merry way.

IMG_2615

There were storms rolling in when we arrived, which made for some gorgeous blues and greys in the sky.

IMG_2624

This is my “I’m on vacation!” face.

IMG_2629

We made it to our house just in time for the rain to start, which created even more beautiful views. This is the view out of our main livingroom windows.

IMG_2632

The best part of this vacation was that my gorgeous girl was able to join, and she loved it!

IMG_2642

The next morning, while enjoying my coffee, I had the pleasure of watching two deer trek across our backyard. They are such beautiful creatures!

IMG_2645

We took a stroll down to the beach, which was secluded and empty. Ginger was able to run around a bit, and we strolled along, looking for shells and other random fun things.

IMG_2655

While there was a TV with cable at the house, we kept it chill and quiet with blues music, board games and books. (I lost in cribbage, very upsetting)

IMG_2658

The next day afforded us a beautiful sunset, which I quite literally sat and watched.

IMG_2660

Could you ask for anything better?

IMG_2663

Well, a fireplace sure wouldn’t hurt. It made the chilly evenings much cozier. I didn’t take any pictures of the hot tub, but we had one of those as well.

IMG_2666

C.S. Lewis, a complex Merlot, cozy fire, and beautiful sunset….it was a perfect night.

IMG_2674

She wasn’t ready to go home (and neither was I), but alas, it had to come to an end. It was a wonderful weekend, and a great way to start off my spring vacations. I’m starting the one month countdown until NYC which means it’s time to really start planning. 🙂

One thought on “Whidbey Island

Leave a Reply

