Wallace Falls

This post is a bit late as I just haven’t taken the time to sit and write, but better late than never, right?

I grabbed a couple of friends and we headed up North towards Stevens Pass to get some hiking in on a beautiful Saturday morning. This was the first hike I was going to do in that area, so I was extremely excited. Wallace Falls is a really popular 5.5 mile hike, so we got there early to make sure we wouldn’t be crowded on the trail.

IMG_2698

If I remember correctly, there are 7 waterfalls along the hike. I didn’t count them all as we went along, but I have to admit it was a great hike! A nice blend of climbing then leveling off to let you catch your breath. Also, there were some spectacular lookouts.

IMG_2696

A picture of one of my awesome hiking buddies taking a picture of the stream. Yeah, I’m artsy like that. :-/

IMG_2707

I loved this view! The far away falls combined with the current rushing stream just seemed very fairy-tale like to me.

IMG_2711

More falls

IMG_2725

But there’s nothing like standing thousands of feet above everyone else and looking out on space that you’ve never even stepped on. It’s very humbling.

IMG_2724

Sweaty or not, we’re a great-looking trio! BFF is always my fav, but that other guy is quickly becoming a fav of mine as well.

IMG_2728

It’s hard to tell, but the mist coming off of the falls was creating a beautiful rainbow effect which I tried to capture.

Coming down the trail, there were hundreds more people which made me super thankful that we got there as early as we did and was able to enjoy the trail up without screaming children and loud adults. Two hikes down for 2013 and we’re just getting started!

Leave a Reply

