Lake Serene = worst hike ever

My third hike of 2013 took us to Lake Serene off of US 2. I’ve heard of this hike by a few people, and I knew that it would be a hell of a workout, but I was ready. Going weeks without hiking had me jumping in anticipation.

Before I get too far into the hike, I feel as though I should share that I finally thought it was time to purchase a good pair of hiking shoes. After my fall on the Poo Poo Point trail, I knew I needed to invest in some solid shoes that were going to give me the support I needed AND be waterproof. So, I took myself to REI and put myself in the hands of an REI employee and said “I need shoes and I have no idea what kind. Go!”. And I left with a great pair of Keen’s.

I started off with a very positive attitude toward this hike, and the first couple of miles was great. The trail was pretty easy, and then tougher for the last 1/2 mile to the falls.

IMG_2965

The views were spectacular as we quickly climbed towards the falls.

IMG_2971

The falls themselves were beautiful! Being able to stand that close to them, feel the mist hitting my hot skin from the hike up was bliss. The thunderous sound as it came crashing down was near deafening.

IMG_2968

IMG_2974

Ginger thought the mist was fun!

IMG_2991

She also decided to take a big jump up onto the log and nearly missed. I think she didn’t account for the slipperiness. She’s so cute. 🙂

IMG_3002

More falls after getting back on the lake trail.

IMG_3008

He’s obviously superman (or whatever comic book character that could move a giant tree)!

IMG_3013

Getting close!!! Despite my smile, I was pretty angry by this point and ready for this hike to be over.

IMG_3016

This is our gangsta look.

IMG_3017

Finally, we made it to the lake but it was so cold up there, I didn’t manage to stay long. Then, the worst happened. I caught a root sticking out of the ground with my boot and took a bad fall, causing my knee to double in size right at the beginning of the descent. It was an incredibly painful hike down, made even worse by all the rocks and stairs. Needless to say, I will never do this hike again. There were some beautiful outlooks, but overall, it wasn’t worth it to me. I was pretty bitter and didn’t really speak until we were near the trailhead again. I think my next REI purchase will be walking poles. *sigh*

3 thoughts on “Lake Serene = worst hike ever

  1. Ugh, I hope your knee is normal-sized again! I’ve never been a fan of Lake Serene, I just really, really hate those stairs. And the lake basin acts like a fridge, so both of the times I’ve been there it was freezing.

    The Mountain Loop Highway lakes are great this time of year – Lake 22, Heather Lake, Goat Lake.

  2. Ingunn – i’m with you, damn the stairs! I have Goat Lake on my list for sure!! 🙂

    Thanks Josh, I think I’ll definitely be buying a pair. Could be tricky though since I’m generally trying to control Ginger’s leash at the same time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

