Slacking

I have recently become obsessed with Sons of Anarchy (like, watched-all-five-seasons-in-about-a-week-and-a-half kind of obsessed) and in the first episode, Jax says a line that I just loved:

“Some days you’re the beamer, some days you’re the G** D*** Deer”

The comment is made because a tow truck has just brought a BMW into the shop with a deer plunging head-first into the windshield. I feel like that mantra works for my life a lot these days in ways that I don’t really want to get into right now. Suffice it to say, lately, I’ve felt like the “G** D*** Deer”.

I took Wednesday and Thursday off of CrossFit. Thursday was my planned rest day and Wednesday just happened because I was in a cranky mood and frankly, wine sounded better than lifting weights. I know, probably a poor choice, but it’s done so I’m not going to beat myself up. Plus, the wine was really good and came with a friend and a lot of laughing.

But, I have to admit that while I was enjoying my freedom, I did miss being at my gym. I don’t know anyone there very well yet, but the trainers I’ve had the most all know my name and know a few details about me, so we can have normal conversations, and well, I just missed seeing their faces. I also missed the “YES! I did it!” feeling at the end. So, gearing up for a WOD this afternoon, then planning on hitting one this weekend as well.

2 thoughts on “Slacking

  1. I went to my first class at my gym on wednesday! Thursday… I was so sore and couldn’t even go to workout. Today I decided to make myself and it actually made the soreness better. Sometimes you just got to take a break and have a little time to recoup. Whether it be because your sore or just because you need some you time (wine). You will feel better about going back because you took the break. You got this becca! 🙂

Leave a Reply

