WOD 8/2

Back at it last night! I generally go to the 6:30pm class because it’s smaller and has more beginners in it, but they don’t have that class on Friday’s, only 4:30 and 5:30, so I opted for the 4:30 class and boy was it different. More people, much more advanced people, and people who were very intense! It was an experience, let me tell you. Eventually, I really want to go to the 4:30 class regularly, but I think it might be awhile. :-/

At any rate, today’s WOD was Elizabeth (insert grimace here).

Pursuit & Performance:
20 mins
A1)Snatch Complex – P.Sn + 2HSq.Sn + 2 OHS (Pursuit: H.P.Sn work)
A2) Strict Press – 5 reps

Conditioning Performance:
“Elizabeth” – power clean variation
21-15-9 reps for time of:
Power Clean (60K/45K)
Ring Dips

Conditioning Pursuit:
21-15-9 of:
HPC (free choice on wts)
Push up
Cal Row

I tried to do the full Power Clean,  but only made it 9 reps before I had to switch to the hang. Oh well, I’ll get there eventually. Our Push Ups were also not normal push ups. We used these two bar things and “sat” in the middle of them, with our legs at a 90 degree angle then pushed ourselves up with our arms (I really need to figure out how to explain things better). They were tough, but not nearly as bad as ring dips would have been *shiver*. I have to say though, that I really look forward to the day that I can actually hoist my body up by my arms/shoulders. I’ve never been able to do that, and I know that will be a huge milestone for me.

After the 4:30 class finished, they pulled out the BBQ and the party started. That’s right, we have a BBQ at the gym. It was a blast! I went home and got Ginger and brought her down with me as there were four other dogs there as well. There was a bunch of food, a bunch of people, and a lot of new names thrown at me. I stayed for about an hour and a half, then headed home for a date with my couch.

IMG_3441

I was nervous to go by myself, nervous to be the biggest person there amongst all the beautiful people, but most of them were very nice, and having Ginger helped break the ice several times. I really look forward to becoming a regular here, someone who they know better and can be more involved.

It was also a gloomy, grey day in Seattle complete with some rain which was a welcome relief to me from the always sunny, 80 degree weather. Yeah, I’m definitely a Pacific Northwesterner now. 🙂

IMG_3438

Leave a Reply

