I must be crazy

Yesterday, as I was finalizing some reservations for Vegas next month, the thought occurred to me that I should try the Whole 30 challenge before I go. WHAT?! I know, me, the girl who has said from day 1 that she would never go Paleo, is considering the challenge. So, why the change?

Well, the main reason is that I’m curious. I’m curious to know how I would feel if I wasn’t eating so many different types of food. I don’t have a medical reason to cut anything out, but maybe I would feel better without processed foots and so many carbs. I’m also curious if it would increase my weight loss. Losing weight has never been easy for me. Sometimes, it seems like people I know only have to add a 30 minute walk to their day and stop eating candy and they lose 30 lbs (OK, exaggerating a little), but for me, it’s always been work my ass off for 6 months and lose 2 lbs (exaggerating again – but you get my point, right?). Maybe my food choices are counteracting all the work I put in being active.

The main concern I have for this challenge is planning. I like to cook, but I generally just cook what I know. It’s not too often I decide I want to try a new recipe, and these 30 days would require me to try a lot of new recipes…..or survive solely on bacon. To that end, I’ve created a spreadsheet (duh) to try and plan out my meals for the whole 30 days so that I’m mentally prepared for what I need to do. I’m also Googling paleo recipe sites in hopes of finding some diversity.

Anyone out there have any tips, tricks, websites, or recipes that I should know about for this challenge?

4 thoughts on “I must be crazy

  1. I just completed my first and was really surprised. Like you, I have no medical issues but have weight to lose. It was a great expereince. That said, two things:
    1. Bacon isn’t allowed on Whole 30. Unless it’s sugar free, nitrate free, pasture raised… which is difficult to find and very expensive if you do find it. Sorry, not even the beloved meat candy makes the cut.
    2. For me, NOT doing the recipe thing was kind of key. I had a tendancy to cook my lunches for the week on Sundays. I browned up a pan of ground beef with yummy seasonings, a pan of ground chicken with the same, roasted a huge pan of veggies, and put everything in tupperware. Trying to do anything too complex overwhelmed me, so I just didn’t. I baked sweet potatoes and ate chicken and followed the plan without overthinking it or overplanning, if that makes sense.

    If you choose to do it, be sure to write about it! It’s a tough few weeks, but once you get to about day 20 it’s smooth sailing and you will feel great!

    1. NO BACON?!?! AGH!!!!! Seriously though, thanks for the comment. I won’t be cooking up a new recipe every day since it’s only me in the house and I can live on leftovers for awhile, but I’m afraid I’ll cave if I just eat the same thing for 30 days, so I’ll have to find some ideas.

      I’ll definitely be writing about it, the good, the bad, and the moody I’m sure. 🙂 Thanks again for the advice. I’ll definitely take it!

  2. I ate paleo before starting cross fit. I highly recommend giving the 30 day plan a try. Look up Melissa Joulwan, Clothes Make the Girl. She has an AWESOME cookbook, Well Fed, that is 99% Whole 30 compliant. It saved me when I was doing it. (I didn’t know how to cook before starting). It gives lots of hints for making meals quickly. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

