Whole30….here I come!

I woke up this morning the sorest I’ve been since starting at TheLAB, so I therefore decided today would be a rest day which worked out well because I had a few errands to run anyways. The biggest errand: grocery shopping.

That’s right, folks, I’ve finished up the last of my milk and put away my bread because Whole30 begins tomorrow and my sad kitchen barely had anything Whole30 approved in it, so to give myself the best start possible, I needed to stock up. Since I have wrangled my BFF into doing the Whole30 with me, I grabbed her and we set off to the store.

IMG_3482

Look at all that deliciousness!!! Once I got home, I then had to unpack it, clean the fridge, clean my kitchen, and put it away. Finally, I had to prep meals for tomorrow so I would be able to grab it in the morning on the way out the door. (Have I ever mentioned that I am NOT a morning person?)

IMG_3481

I can already tell that eggs are going to be my most-used item. I bought two dozen tonight and have a distinct feeling I’ll be buying more before the weekend. Random side note: I’m generally not too terribly picky about name brand food items or what-have-you, but I’m very picky about my eggs. I want them to come from happy, free-range, vegetarian, local chickens, so I end up paying more for them, but then, when I’m cooking with them, I can safely make silly, happy chicken noises knowing my eggs came from happy chickens!

I also bought items that I have never used before (coconut oil and ghee), so this will be a fun 30 days figuring out how to not cook with things I’m used to, and cook with things I have no idea how to use. Adventure time!!

I’m actually feeling really excited about this challenge and ready to take it on, balls to the wall style. No cheating, no wondering if I’m going to succeed. I’m just going to do it. The end!

Stay tuned friends!!

Leave a Reply

