WOD 8/15 + Whole30 Day 1

Where to begin? I’ll start with food since it’s more fun! All in all, I would say day 1 wasn’t too bad. I started getting a dull headache around 11AM and it hasn’t gone away yet, so I assume it’s probably sugar withdrawals, but other than that, no issues. I may have to change my route to the bathroom as the woman in the office next to me has a candy bowl right at her door that I pass every time, so that could become a huge temptation if I’m not careful.

IMG_3483

Breakfast: scrambled eggs with chicken sausage and asparagus and half a cup of black coffee. I’m not going to lie, I made a face every time I took a sip of coffee, but I got through it. By the end of these 30 days, I may not be able to drink sweetened coffee anymore!

IMG_3484

Lunch: Chicken with spices, yellow squash, zucchini and carrots with oregano, and a baked sweet potato. Definitely filling, though I got a little bored with the vegetable medley about halfway through.

IMG_3489

Dinner: Post-WOD, I wasn’t super hungry, just wanted something fresh and easy, so I made caprese salad but used avocados instead of mozzarella cheese. Brilliant! So tasty, and I threw a hard boiled egg on the side as well. I was left feeling full and satisfied.

OK, on to the workout.

F. Test: (A modified version – Thank you OPT)
45 minutes AMR:
700m Row
150m Farmer Carry @ 1.5pd/hand for men, 1pd/hand for women
10 Wall Walk Ups
40 Double Unders

Alt Workout:
45-30-15-30-45 of:
AD Sprint – Seconds
MnT Climbers – R/L
Ab Mat Butterfly Sit Ups
*150 M Sandbag Run b/t sets

I wanted to do the fitness test, but since I wasn’t allowed to scale anything, it was simply impossible. I don’t have DU’s yet, no way in hell I can do wall walk ups Rx and carrying 1pd…yikes. I went with the alternate workout and believe me, it was just as difficult. I clocked in at 36:38, so I didn’t save myself much time on this WOD. Those mountain climbers are ROUGH! I can already tell that my left hip is going to be screaming at me tomorrow. The good news is that I put on my big girl pants tonight and did the sandbag run (to date, I’ve avoided all running and just rowed instead). It wasn’t too terribly bad. However, I was very excited when it was over.

IMG_3485

2 thoughts on “WOD 8/15 + Whole30 Day 1

  1. Nice job on day 1! I just finished my 30 days a few weeks ago and feel the need to warn you… the next few days are the toughest. BUT… you can do it. Just remember, when you start getting the super hungries eat protien and fat. I had more eggs and avocados than I can count. 🙂

    As far as the black coffee, maybe try it iced? That’s what I did, and after the first week I started enjoying my coffee again. I am still drinking it black and doubt I will ever go back to cream and sugar.

    Good luck, can’t wait to read about your progress and great results!

    1. Yeah, I read the “what to expect” blog on Whole9 and though I was laughing, I was also crying on the inside. I had a 6 mile hike planned for tomorrow and decided to cancel that and give myself permission to rest instead. Seriously, I think avocados and eggs are the only way I will survive! Thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

