WOD 8/26 & Whole30 day 12

Man, did I have some cravings today! I was hungry for breakfast until I heated up my scrambled eggs and sausage, took my first bite and the appetite went away. My body just flat out refused to eat more eggs. I can’t say that I blame it. I’m kinda tired of looking at them. All I could think about was pancakes and how much I wanted them! It was sad.

Lunch was leftover pot roast, carrots and parsnips. Today was also fruit delivery day for my office, so I grabbed a banana and a pluot. Those two things seemed to help the pancake craving as they delivered some sweetness to my day, but I was still sad.

After CrossFit, I headed to the grocery store for a few things to get me through the week (surprise: more eggs) and decided to try a spin on cereal tomorrow for breakfast. Stay tuned!

Dinner was more leftover pot roast, carrots and parsnips and I had some cantaloupe as a dessert. Not a very exciting food day, huh? Oh well, on to the workout.

Pursuit & Performance:
15 mins:
A1) Back Squat – 5,4,3,2,1,1,1 – 5@70%,4@75%,3@80%,2@85%, 1@90%X3
A2) Double Under: UNBROKEN – 5,10,15,20,15,10,5 – Pause b/t each set. If you can’t go UNBROKEN practice for 3 mins/set.
Conditioning:
12 mins of “Cindy”
5 – Pull Ups (ring rows)
10 – Push Ups (using the bar on lowered racks)
15 – Air Squats

Since I didn’t have a one-rep max for my back squat, I just started with 35kg and worked up each round until I was out of time. I made it to 53kg so I feel pretty good about that. I could have gone a little heavier but I ran out of time. It’s still a good place to start!

For the workout, we had our choice of Cindy or Mary and there was no way I could do Mary, so I opted for my scaled version of Cindy. I ended with 5 full rounds and 10 reps. Not too shabby. I am ever amazed at how weak I am on pushups. Even with the easier modification, I still have a hard time. And R came by to tell me that my elbows were out too far and I needed to tuck them in. Once I did that, a whole new set of muscles screamed out in protest, so that was unpleasant. Tomorrow, I may not be able to lift my arms above my head. But, at least I can feel secure that I was using the correct muscles, which means….they SHOULD get stronger for next time.

On a completely unrelated topic, today was mostly cloudy and we had some glorious rain late afternoon and it really got me excited for fall. I do enjoy summer, but the Seattle rain is what I love most. I think even Ginger was excited to feel the drops on her fur as we were out walking.

2 thoughts on “WOD 8/26 & Whole30 day 12

  1. So I started making meatballs and ended up switching them for breakfast with eggs about half way through the Whole 30. I would use ground beef and do fun spices like cumin, red pepper and mustard seeds or ground chicken and add sun dried tomatoes, basil and spinach. Roll into 3 oz balls and bake. Quick and easy for breakfast, big dose of protien, and something other than eggs. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

