WOD 8/27 & Whole30 Day 13

OHMYGOSHGUYS!!! I’m nearly halfway through! Woo hoo! *ahem* Sorry, I got a little excited there.

Today was a pretty good day, nothing too exciting. I did wake up feeling pretty good, although I let myself hit snooze one more time which then made me groggy when I did get up, so I need to just get up when my body tells me to and maybe I’ll have better results in the mornings.

The biggest win for me today was breakfast. I told you last night that I was going to try a spin on cereal, and I’m pleased to announce that it turned out pretty good!

IMG_3528

That lovely concoction would be coconut milk (from the can, watered down a bit) with raspberries, pecans, blueberries, and sliced almonds and some cinnamon sprinkled in for flavor. What do you think of that?? I’m not a huge fan of coconut milk, but I can deal with it enough to forgo eggs for a day or two.

Dinner also turned out to be something new-ish and I wasn’t exactly sure how it would all come together, but in the end, it worked out.

IMG_3534

I call that a deconstructed taco of sorts. I made taco meat, mixed it with salsa, then layered on cilantro, spinach, an egg and guacamole. I made the taco meat a little too spicy, so heartburn slowed me down more than anything else with this dish. All in all, a successful day of trying out new/revamped foods.

Pursuit:
A) Clean Complex: 15 mins
1 Hang Power Clean + 2 Front Squats +1 Push Press

Conditioning:
Pursuit: EMOTM – 6 BB Thrusters & 6 Ring Rows – 15 mins

I’m happy to report that I am officially using the 4.5kg weights now for our strength movements which makes me uber happy! Last month, I could barely do a HPC with the bar! Now, I’ve moved up from the bar, to 2.5kg, to 4.5. Yay growth!

I did use a blank bar for our conditional workout though even though I thought at the beginning of the workout that I could easily throw some light weight on there and be fine. Yeeeaaaahhhh…..with 15 rounds, I wouldn’t have made it with weight. Honestly, my biggest struggle in the WOD’s is catching my breath. That slows me down more than my body, which is really frustrating.

At any rate, I completed 13 rounds and was happy with that. My shoulders are definitely sore, and will probably be sore again tomorrow, but that’s ok because it means I did something great today. 🙂

Leave a Reply

