Listening to my body

So, I didn’t work out at all this past weekend, and I was OK with that because I knew I would be back at it on Monday, but somehow, when Monday showed up, my body said “nope, I’m too exhausted”. So, I didn’t go then either. What is becoming of me?!

Well, I’m glad you asked. I am a firm believer in rest. I am not one of those people who subscribe to the notion of beating my body until it can no longer do anything. I believe in listening to those subtle cues even when it makes me feel like I’m slacking. Of course, there are those days when I am probably just being lazy, but I know they’re getting fewer and far between because I actually look forward to going to the gym and I get excited about that feeling of accomplishment that comes at the end, so when my body tells me that I need a day (or three) off, it’s a bummer to me. However, I still listen to it.

So Monday night, instead of working out, I made dinner, prepped food for the next couple of days, watched some TV, cuddled with Ginger, read and went to sleep. Yesterday morning I woke up more refreshed and ready to head to the gym after work.

Leave a Reply

