Back at my box

Walking back into my CrossFit gym on Monday was both exhilarating and terrifying. I’ve missed it….OH, how I’ve missed it! But I was really nervous about getting back into the swing of things, trying to figure out how much weight I need to start with to work back up to where I was. Thankfully, our coach was the owner and I just adore her. She watches everyone, gives great feedback, and you can tell that she loves her job. So, thankfully, the transition back in was good.

I’m also trying a new class time right after work to see if that will help. With the days being so short, by the time I get home and walk Ginger, I feel like I’m basically ready for bed and getting me back out of the house for a workout would be tough, so if I just go straight there from work, then I’m hoping it will work better. However, I didn’t plan well for Monday morning and realized after my workout that I was going to have to walk home because I bussed to the gym. Thankfully I only live about 6 blocks from the gym, but it’s 6 blocks of uphill walking (slight AND steep) and with solid leg workout that day, I was nearly crying by the time I climbed my last hill. Needless to say, Ginger got a quick, FLAT walk that night. And by the way, my quads have been in constant pain since then. Yep, I have some work to do to get back to where I was. Kids, never, ever, EVER take 3 months off. It’s just not worth it.

On the bright side, my food consumption has been awesome and I’ve been pretty strict paleo (minus one Happy Hour last Friday)  and feeling the good effects of that. It helps having one of my besties living upstairs in my apartment building that also eats paleo. We take turns cooking and sharing leftovers, so that rocks.

Leave a Reply

