PR’s and such

Hitting a new PR is such an exhilarating feeling. But, when you don’t realize you’re hitting a new PR and you realize later on when you’re recording it, it’s kind of a bummer that you didn’t get to celebrate with any of your CF buddies.

That’s what happened to me last night. We were working on finding out one-rep max on thrusters, and I happened to nearly double mine from what was previously recorded. In all fairness though, I’m not sure I’ve actually tried finding a one-rep max before on this lift, I had just recorded what I had used last time we were doing thrusters, but I’ll take it. I also think I could have pushed it another couple of kilograms but I ran out of time. I think I wasn’t adding enough weight each round, was taking it too easy on myself. But that’s OK, there will be another time. Currently, my new one-rep max is 46kg.

I’m really trying to connect with more of my CrossFit family as well since relationships are what energize me and people who don’t CrossFit don’t get it. It’s still hard for me to get over my shyness sometimes, but I am trying, even when I feel so insecure about being the least-athletic person there. I feel like I need this in my life right now, that I need to go after it. Even if that means going after it alone.

Leave a Reply

