Setting boundaries

I work best on a routine, and I’ve known that for quite some time. Some time, around when I got Ginger, I began really putting myself on a weekly routine aka having a regular bedtime, and not making a lot of plans Monday – Friday. This has probably been one of the best things I have ever done for myself. I mostly did it for Ginger, so that she would know when to expect me home, when she would get walks, and so that she would get plenty of attention (because why have a dog if you’re out socializing 7 nights a week?).

At any rate, I have a 9pm curfew Monday through Friday. Seems early, right? I know, but it works for me since I have an earlier schedule at work. Somewhere, between 8:45-9pm I take Ginger out for her last walk, then I do my bedtime preparations, crawl into bed, watch a little TV or read, turn out my lamp and I’m out cold generally by 10pm.

So, what’s the problem you ask? My great routine generally gets thrown out the window Friday through Sunday. And I believe that’s causing my body a lot of confusion. The last few weekends, I have been out until 1 or 2AM Friday and Saturday nights, causing me to sleep late the next day, and feel groggy. Of course, then I’m not operating at my prime, meaning that I am horribly unproductive with my weekend days.

Yesterday, as I was laying around watching endless amounts of stupid reality TV, I made the firm decision to put myself on a weekend curfew. Yep, I’m grounding myself. OK, not really grounding myself, just giving myself some good structure to stick to. I’m 31 years old, there is no reason that I need to be out until 2AM anymore. I think, because I’m single, I still feel that drive to be out socializing like when I was 25 or 26, but it’s just not the same. In fact, when I am out that late, and all I’m doing is meeting 22 year olds, it just makes me feel worse.

So, from now on, unless there’s a concert or other valid reason for me to be out super late, my “curfew” is going to be 11pm (Midnight at the latest). Yep, I feel good about this.

3 thoughts on “Setting boundaries

  1. Especially since Ira’s alarm goes off at 5:20 every weekday morning it’s pretty easy for us to have a weekday curfew (even more so in the wintertime when it’s all dark and stormy and going to bed at 9 sounds like an amazing idea). But then on the weekends, especially when we have gigs, sometimes we’re not able to get to bed until 3am on Sunday mornings. And we *try* not to sleep in but I’m sooooo tired. Throws the whole week off then. Hard having a rock n roll lifestyle AND a day job. Good thing the kitties can feed and go to the potty box on their own schedule! Ira wanted a dog but we just don’t have the time to devote the proper attention to one. You’re being an excellent dog mummy to Ginger!! 🙂

  2. I miss your blog, I hope everything is good in your corner of the world! Are you on Instagram or anything like that? *trying not to sound like a stalker*

  3. Awe, Ingunn! I know, I’ve been a major slacker. There’s been a lot of changes with me, so I guess I’ve just been at a loss of what to write. I am on Instagram and you don’t sound like a stalker. 🙂 I’m under barecca82 so you should be able to find me. One of these days I’ll get back to updating this thing. Hope you, hubby and the pups are well!

Leave a Reply

