Held Hostage

Held hostage by your words
The promises, and the lies
Held hostage by your words
The haunted past still cries

How could you hurt me like this?
How could you be so cruel?
Why couldn’t you see me as just your little girl?
Now I’ll always be…ruined

Held hostage by your love
Or what you consider love to be
Held hostage by your addictions
By your inability to be free

Why was I a dumping ground?
Someone who’s supposed to fix it all
Don’t you know I have feelings too
I’m not the one to blame it on

How can I move on if you won’t let go?
How can I be me if I’m not allowed to grow?
Leaving me to fend for myself to figure out how to know
Why you still have a hold on me
These feelings, these thoughts always near the surface
I try to keep them in
Trying to contain a part of me that’s broken

Leave a Reply

