Whole30…..again?!

Yep, it’s true. I’m going to do the Whole30 again starting March 1st. However, I won’t be posting daily updates about it on here. However, as I’ve been thinking about doing this again, I thought it would be a good idea to reflect on the last one I did, even though it’s been over a year and the details are a bit foggy.

I definitely remember being so sick of eggs that I thought I would never eat another one. I remember dreaming about bread. I remember carrots beginning to taste super sweet. I remember missing cereal and the smell of Ghee making me nauseous. I remember being so irritated by the whole thing about halfway through. I remember being so angry that I couldn’t have a glass of wine after a hard day.

But, I also remember sleeping for 5-6 hours a night and feeling totally and completely rested. I remember my head and body feeling so clear and alert with no hangovers to deal with. I can remember learning new recipes. I remember the drive and determination I felt to complete it. I remember the amazing feeling of accomplishment on my final day and how cute I looked in my polka-dotted dress and boots.

Other things I learned through this process was that I didn’t need milk in my life. I used to drink a gallon of milk a week just by myself. Now, I rarely buy a small carton to use if I’m cooking something that requires it. And if there’s some left, sometimes I’ll drink it. But most of the time, it just goes bad. Honestly, the only dairy products that is hard to give up now-a-days is cheese. I do love cheese. And I will give it up for Whole30, but I won’t give it up for life.

I learned that I love my coffee black and now adding anything to it makes it super gross. I learned that I love a lot more vegetables than I thought I liked. I learned how vital food prep is and that you ALWAYS need to have something ready for a hangry moment. I learned that you don’t have to just eat breakfast food for breakfast. Sometimes you can have dinner at 8AM. I learned more about my body in those 30 days than I had my entire life.

But, you can’t live in that Whole30 bubble forever and I made the mistake of coming out of it really quick and quickly fell back into a lot old, bad habits. So, I want to do it again. I want go back into that bubble. I want go back to a place where I can listen to my body. I want to do a reset. And that just what I’m gonna do.

Leave a Reply

